The Governors of Maidenbower Junior School are responsible for the strategic long-term development and improvement of the School by establishing suitable policies, monitoring standards and ensuring a happy learning environment where every child can succeed according to their ability.

The Governing Body consists of 17 Governors; The Headteacher, 1 Staff Governor, 1 Local Authority Governor, 6 Parent Governors and 8 Co-opted Governors who attend six Full Governing Body meetings each academic year; one per half term.


Future Aim – To be a beacon of excellence in which everyone within our school community achieves.


All governors serve for four years on the Governing body and this consists of:

NameCategoryAppointing BodyEnd of Term Roles and Responsibilities
Elaine JenkinsHead TeacherEx OfficioN/ACurriculum Committee
Sarah PrattLA GovernorLA 20/06/2018
Faye StansfieldStaff GovernorStaff31/12/2017Curriculum Committee
Matthew RedgraveParent GovernorParents29/09/2018Finance Committee
Stephanie LinnellParent GovernorParents30/11/2020Pay Committee
Health & Safety Committee
Angela ParkinsonParent GovernorParents29/09/2018Finance Committee
Hayley MathewsParent GovernorParents30/11/2020Link Governor
Pay Committee
Health & Safety Committee
Rebecca VirrillParent GovernorParents30/11/2020Curriculum Committee
To be electedParent GovernorParents
Lesley ThompsonCo-opted MemberGB29/09/2019
Josef KaneVice Chair and Co-opted MemberGB29/09/2019Pay Committee
Curriculum Committee
Kevin JewellCo-opted MemberGB12/11/2018Health & Safety Committee
Richard LederleChair and Co-opted MemberGB29/09/2019
Christine MacleanCo-opted MemberGB29/03/2021Health & Safety Committee
Child Protection
To be electedCo-opted Member
To be electedCo-opted Member
To be electedCo-opted Member
Lynn CookAssociate29/09/2019Finance Committee
Kerry NegusAssociate10/06/2017Health & Safety Committee
Simon PikeAssociate10/06/2017Finance Committee



The following Governors hold these positions for the academic year 2017-18

Chair  –  Richard Lederle

Vice-Chair – Josef Kane

Child Protection and Safeguarding – Sarah Pratt

Governor responsible for liaising with the Local Authority in the event of an allegation (Child Protection) issued against the Headteacher – Sarah Pratt

Pay Committee – Josef Kane, Hayley Mathews, Stephanie Linnell

Finance Committee –  Matthew Redgrave, Angela Parkinson, Simon Pike (Associate Governor)  and Lynn Cook (Associate Governor)

Health & Safety Committee – Kevin Jewell, Stephanie Linnell, Hayley Mathews and Kerry Negus (Associate Governor)

Curriculum Committee – Josef Kane, Rebecca Virrill, Lesley Thompson, Elaine Jenkins, Faye Stansfield (Associate Governor)


The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs L Bracher and she can be contacted via the school office.